Stan Musial Award

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

One last BBA vote, this time for the Stan Musial Award, given to the best player in each league. As with our other ballots, we are only voting for the NL award. We are supposed to select ten nominees, which seems excessive to me, but I don't make the rules. On to the ballot.
  1. Joey Votto, Cincinnati
  2. Albert Pujols, St. Louis
  3. Adrian Gonzalez, San Diego
  4. Ryan Zimmerman, Washington
  5. Jason Heyward, Atlanta
  6. Matt Holliday, St. Louis
  7. Kelly Johnson, Arizona
  8. Dan Uggla, Florida
  9. Troy Tulowitzki, Colorado
  10. Rickie Weeks, Milwaukee
It was a tough choice between Votto and Pujols, but Votto's slight edge in WAR (via Fangraphs) gives him the edge. Votto was a bit luckier this year, with a .361 BABIP compared to Pujols' .297, but his defense was superior to Pujols (according to UZR/150, 2.2 for Votto versus 1.1 for Pujols). Apart from those two stats and Pujols' lower K/9, their numbers are practically identical (click to enlarge images):


Post a Comment

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by 2009

Back to TOP